About ICE Testing

ICE (Industry Competency Exam) tests measure industry-agreed standards of basic competency for entry-level (one year or less) technicians. ICE is the only industry validated test for entry-level technicians. ICE has required participation by over 360 schools and is an excellent pretest for NATE. To keep tests current with new technology each question is validated yearly by a diverse industry group consisting of manufacturers and contractors.

There are three different tests available:

  • Residential Air Conditioning and Heating (equipment 5 tons or smaller)

    The Residential Air Conditioning and Heating exam consists of six sections:

    1. Core
    2. Air Distribution
    3. Air Conditioning
    4. Heat Pumps
    5. Gas Heating
    6. Oil Heating

      NOTE: Passing of the Core section is required for competency in any of the other five sections.

  • Light Commercial Air Conditioning and Heating (equipment 6-20 tons)
  • Commercial Refrigeration

Please select one of the links below for further information.




© 2000 - 2009 VGI Training All Rights Reserved.